Machinations: Satine Interview

What made you agree to work on this project?
I LOVE SciFi.. and I love RPGs… and I LOVE LOVE Princesses. It was obvious really😉 Also James asked me.
 
How did you get started as an artist?
I was born with it. Just been drawing since I was little. My grandmother would make fantasy stories for me to illustrate. Wizards, princesses, butterflies, unicorns… etc. Went to art school at the Academy of Art in San Francisco for 5 years before I dropped out due to … politics. But you don’t have to go to art school to be an artist. It does help tho.
 
You have a very distinctive, graphical style. Who are your influences?
Really? Thanks! I just draw the way I know how. I watched a lot of cartoons growing up. Disney, Liquid Television, Simpsons/Futurama, Bugs Bunny, Road Runner, Nickelodeon, Anime…. but maybe most of my influences came from Aeon Flux and The Maxx mixed with Ralph Bakshi and here I am!
 
When did you first start gaming?
I was 15 ish, tho I was introduced to D&D when I was about 11. Found my dad’s old characters & books
 
What excites you about this project?
What doesn’t excite me about illustrating an entire SciFi RPG?! You’ll develop a character based on the description but also my stylings will be a piece of that. That’s pretty sexy!
 
What would your dream art project be?
One that I have a crew of people to help me with. … my dream would be the Lead/Director of a project i design. Music video, comic, animation, whatever it is… i want a crew to help with it.
If you were going to play Machinations of the Space Princess, what kind of character would you play?
Probably a space trader… feline?… who knows. Once I draw all of these character mixes i’ll have a better idea of what i’d like to be. I’m partial to the lizard people right now because i drew them the best so far. Then again.. i’d like to be green….
 
If you could change one thing to make games even better, what would it be?
I haven’t played every game so i can’t answer that question😉
 
Cats or dogs?
Yes
 
Do you prefer to work digitally or in traditional media? 
Yes😀

Leave a Reply

